What is Sphagnum farming?

Cultivated Sphagnum on the experimental site RamslohSphagnum farming is the cultivation of peat moss (Sphagnum) aiming for the production and harvest of peat moss biomass. For this purpose the Sphagnum is cultivated in order to gain renewable raw material for the production of horticultural growing media.

Potential sites for Sphagnum cultivation on peat soils are degraded former raised bog sites such as cut-over peat bogs or cultivated bogs, which are currently used as pastures and meadows. Alternatively, Sphagnum can also be cultivated on floating rafts on open water, former peat cuttings in degraded raised bogs or lakes which developed after open-cast lignite mining.

The cultivation of Sphagnum has many benefits:

  • Climate: Conservation of carbon fixed in peat and reduction of CO2 emissions by rewetting degraded peatlands
  • Environment: Reduction of the emission of pollutants into ground and surface water in comparison to agricultural land use; renewed function of water purification and water retention in peatlands as well as a local cooling effect due to increased water evaporation.
  • Wildlife: Habitats for rare and endangered Sphagnum species
  • Landscape: Conservation of open landscape.
  • Economy: Renewable alternative to depleting fossil raw materials, job creation and alternative means of income in rural areas as well as regional creation of value.

Sphagnum farming on peat soils is a form of paludiculture on raised bog sites.

Was ist Torfmooskultivierung?

Kultivierte Torfmoose auf der Versuchsfläche in RamslohTorfmooskultivierung ist der Anbau von Torfmoosen (Sphagnum) zur Produktion und Ernte von Torfmoos-Biomasse. Dabei wird Torfmoos als neue landwirtschaftliche Kulturpflanze etabliert, um einen nachwachsenden Rohstoff zur Herstellung von hochwertigen Kultursubstraten für den Gartenbau zu erzeugen.

Potentielle Kulturflächen für den Anbau von Torfmoosen auf Torfböden sind degradierte Moorstandorte, wie z.B. abgetorfte oder als Grünland genutzte Hochmoore. Für die Torfmooskultivierung auf Schwimmmatten sind Wasserflächen überstauter degradierter Hochmoorflächen sowie Tagebauseen (z.B. nach Braunkohleabbau) möglich.

Torfmooskultivierung bietet viele Vorteile:

  • Klima: Torferhalt und Minderung der CO2-Freisetzung durch Wiedervernässung entwässerter Moore
  • Umwelt: Minderung des Nährstoffaustrags in Grund- und Oberflächenwasser (bei landwirtschaftlicher Nutzung), Reinitiierung von Wasserreinigung und Wasserrückhalt in Mooren, Kühlung der Landschaft durch erhöhte Verdunstung
  • Natur:Lebensraum für seltene und gefährdete Arten von Torfmoosmooren
  • Landschaft: Erhalt von Offenlandschaften
  • Ökonomie: Nachwachsende Alternativen zu fossilen Rohstoffen, Arbeitsplätze und Einkommensalternativen im ländlichen Raum, regionale Wertschöpfung

Torfmooskultivierung auf Torfböden ist Paludikultur auf Hochmoorstandorten.